(844) 211-5462


Vitreo-Retinal Surgery

Team Member

Dr. Khanna received his Medical Degree from the prestigious All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi. AIIMS has held the top slot for medical education in India for the last eight years in a row, that India Today has conducted the survey and where the acceptance rate for admission is 0.08% of the applicants (harder than Harvard Medical School, where the admission rate is 3.7% as in 2015). He remained a “National Talent Scholar” throughout his education. Upon graduation, he completed his internship at the Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center (“Good Sam”) in 1990 at Phoenix, and moved to Los Angeles to pursue Nuclear Medicine at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). At UCLA, he won numerous research awards, including Laverna Titus Young Investigator Award. He met his mentor, M. Roy Wilson, M.D., an esteemed ophthalmologist, and also then a Dean of Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science at UCLA. Dr. Wilson accepted him to his program in Ophthalmology at Charles Drew, affiliated to UCLA. After completing his residency, he completed a fellowship in Vitreo-Retinal Diseases and Surgery with the Retina Vitreous Associates Medical Group, Beverly Hills in 1999.

He founded Mercy Eye Care Medical Group (MEC), in 2001, to provide Eye Care services in the Mid-Cities region of Los Angeles. MEC is now comprised of multiple offices spread-out between Los Angeles Downtown to Long Beach. He directed the Vitreo-Retinal Services at MLK Jr. Multi-service Ambulatory Care Center (MACC), Los Angeles, where he won the “Doctor of the Year” award for the year 2013.

His clinical interests include Diabetic Retinopathy, Age-Related Macular Degeneration and management of complex Retinal Detachments. He is currently pursuing novel techniques to perform “trans-scleral” sutured Intraocular Lens Implants without the use of intraocular needles as well as solutions for Tele-Ophthalmology. He is a Diplomate of the American Board of Ophthalmology, a Fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and a Member of the American Society of Retina Specialists.